The Law of Attraction - Roxie Cooper

The Law of Attraction

By Roxie Cooper

  • Release Date: 2017-06-23
  • Genre: Contemporary
Our rating: 5/5 stars

Score: (From 0 Ratings)
Check eBook ☑

Check AudioBook ♫

Read The Law of Attraction Roxie Cooper epub - ebook - audiobook

Read book description and reviews bellow

‘A fun and sassy tale full of laugh-out-loud antics from the off. 5 stars’ Heat

Amanda Bentley has always dreamed of being a barrister…

But as a platinum blonde bombshell from the wrong side of town, with a perfect tan and sleek high heels, she doesn’t exactly look the part – or fit in with the brash public school boys and cold posh girls of Newcastle Crown Court’s robing room. Amanda’s never been one to back down from a challenge, and so when she wins a prestigious pupillage following law school, she’s determined to make the most of her chance – and make all her dreams come true.

Only three things stand in her way: Sid Ryder – the sexy, irresistible barrister who she absolutely cannot, under any circumstances, sleep with. At all. Marty Gregg – her smarmy law school nemesis, who she's in direct competition with for the top job. And her big, dark secret that could jeopardise everything she's worked so hard for.

Who said that following the laws of attraction was going to be easy…?

Perfects for fans of Legally Blonde, Lindsey Kelk and Joanna Bolouri

‘Laugh-out-loud funny, dramatic in places, fast-paced and fun, this sparkling novel quite literally had me hooked from the first page. I loved all the legal gossip, the back-stabbing and the richly-developed characters and I was routing for Amanda all the way. I downed this novel like my favourite Prosecco!’Sasha Wagstaff

‘Well, its a 5* from me. What an unforgettable debut’ Samantha Tonge

‘Couldn’t resist. Its slick and props funny too.’ Alexandra Brown

‘The Law of Attraction…made me feel all the feels. Thought it was sassy, sexy and smart’ Anna Bell

It’s a fun, feisty and fabulous read, and I can’t wait to see what Roxie will write next.’ Cressida McLaughlin

Reviews

‘Laugh-out-loud funny, dramatic in places, fast-paced and fun, this sparkling novel quite literally had me hooked from the first page. I loved all the legal gossip, the back-stabbing and the richly-developed characters and I was routing for Amanda all the way. I downed this novel like my favourite Prosecco!’Sasha Wagstaff

‘Well, its a 5* from me. What an unforgettable debut’ Samantha Tonge

‘Couldn’t resist. Its slick and props funny too.’ Alexandra Brown

‘The Law of Attraction…made me feel all the feels. Thought it was sassy, sexy and smart’ Anna Bell

It’s a fun, feisty and fabulous read, and I can’t wait to see what Roxie will write next.’ Cressida McLaughlin

About the author

ROXIE COOPER was born and bred in Middlesbrough. After studying Classics at university, she became a dancer in a nightclub for a few years before going travelling and living in Australia. When she returned, she swapped dancing on a bar, to practising at the Bar, and became a barrister for seven years.

It was after being constantly told ‘Ooh! You don’t look like a barrister!’ by absolutely everyone she met that the idea for her debut novel was born.Roxie lives in Yarm, a pretty little market town in the north-east. She’s a bit (lot) obsessed with Prince and spends far too much time watching him on YouTube. Her hobbies include watching musicals, making her hair as big (and blonde) as possible, and wishing she was Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

tags: The Law of Attraction by Roxie Cooper eBOOK; The Law of Attraction ePUB; The Law of Attraction book review; The Law of Attraction book summary; book recommendations; book review blog; book summary website; The Law of Attraction Audiobook; Roxie Cooper; Contemporary books; books to read The Law of Attraction.

More Reviews

  • many will just adore her layered characters who are fighting the odds and one another for supremacy

    4
    By glhince
    So, fans of Legally Blonde will find some similarities, as the heroine in this story is fighting against stereotypes: a northern girl with the wrong accent, family background and platinum blonde hair fighting the ‘dumb blonde’ tag and playing with or fighting against the bombshell expectations. As a blonde myself – I completely get the juxtaposition and surprised looks when “boop boop be-doop’ is not in your conversational repertoire… but that is where Amanda and I part ways. Brilliant and driven, Amanda has overcome a rough childhood and finished law school against all odds – there should be no reason that she doesn’t succeed if the promise she showed that earned her the internship in a prestigious Chamber can be polished, focused and directed. For me the story felt more Silk-like: Amanda feels very Martha-like with her brains, her commitment and her determination to do her best – even down to the occasional niggles she has from her conscience. And there the comparisons end – as Amanda feels very immature out of the courtroom, and a bit adrift as to the ‘proper path’ for conducting her life. Everyone knows (even the baggers at Tessco) that involvement with co-workers is never a good thing – and sadly, Amanda never got that memo – or applied common sense to her choices. Particularly for someone with a secret to hide. That was my major frustration with her – the blatant lack of common sense outside of the courtroom, and her struggle and railing against stereotypes, when she is just as guilty of believing and using them in her decisions – a choice she never really grows out of and I had hoped to see more there as well. But, the story as it sat kept demanding I read on – insets of courtroom dramas were gripping, the struggles that Amanda faced in her efforts to outshine and outperform the other newly graduated student up for the one position available, her best friend Heidi falling for the oldest line in the universe with her married boyfriend, and the overall growth that does come for Amanda, if not always in ways I would have hoped for, helped to complete her character and give readers a reason to cheer her on. I’m curious to see what’s next from Cooper – this was a fun debut with plenty to enjoy and appreciate – and I think many will just adore her layered characters who are fighting the odds and one another for supremacy. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

User Comments